Whatsapp Updates ‘Delete For Everyone’ Feature

By , in Technology on .

The messaging app WhatsApp has released an update for its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, with respect to the time limit in which users can delete the messages for everyone in a thread.

This new update gives users a time frame of up to 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds in which they can delete their sent messages. This move came in response to random delete requests for older messages.

The telecom industry experts say that the ‘Recipient Limit’ change is to make sure that all members in a conversation thread receive the revoke request for a message within the stipulated time period so that messages could be deleted. The message deletion request should be accepted by all members of a conversation, within this extended timeframe before the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature sets into effect.

It means, if any single member of that conversation thread will not accept the request, the message will not be deleted.

Previously, the delete request needed to be accepted within 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds from all members of a conversation thread. WhatsApp introduced this ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature in late last year. It gives 7 minutes window to delete a message for everyone if you have sent a wrong message to them.

WhatsApp is also planning to allow advertisements to be displayed in the “Status” section of the app. In the status section, the users could share text, photos, videos and animated GIFs that disappear after 24 hours. But now you would also be seeing some annoying ads in that status section.

The rumors about Facebook fueling ads on WhatsApp started arising at the end of last month.